Vacation, Salsa, Online Dating?

I just got back from vacation yesterday. I haven’t been keeping up with blogging these last few days because I was having such an awesome time.

The first day I arrived around noon and spent my time at the resort’s amenities relaxing by the pool and participating in activities. On the second day we made a road trip to Clearwater Beach and spent the entire day there. I love the beach. I got a great tan (my sister referred to me as “bronze”), and not much of a burn since I was disciplined in applying and reapplying sunscreen. On the third day I started the day with Zumba (the instructor was impressed by my moves), spent the day relaxing, then we all checked out a local salsa, merengue and bachata club that night. It was so fun!

It was a perfect getaway for me. A great break from work. On my flight home I decided that I’d like to research local salsa dance lessons. I’ve always wanted to learn but I’ve never signed up because I don’t have a dance partner to learn with. But I feel like that is something I need to overcome. I’m sure I’m not the first single girl that wants to learn salsa and I won’t be the last.

One thing that kinda sucked (but that I’m getting strangely used to) is not really being approached by anyone at the club. A guy finally acknowledged my existence and asked me to dance as I was literally walking out the door. By that time, I didn’t know what to say except, “bye” in a nice way since everyone was already out the door waiting for me.

I don’t know what to make of this whole not being acknowledged thing. It’s only started happening to me at 28-29. When I was in my early and mid-20s, I’d always get some level of attention. I was out of the dating game for a few years while I was 24-27. Some guys/women have told me that “times have changed” and no one approaches anyone in person anymore. I don’t know what that is supposed to mean.

I did online dating in my early 20s, too. Back then, I wasn’t very picky and I’d date anyone I thought was cute or funny. I dated quite a lot that way. I signed up for a free site again earlier this year and man oh man, I don’t know if my standards have just changed or if the caliber of men has just significantly dropped, but it was a huge disappointment and I deleted my profile.

Anyway, I’m thinking about trying my luck at the online thing again but I’m not sure what app/site to use. Anyone have suggestions for someone in my age range?

So this has been an assortment of thoughts but I guess that’s what happens when I don’t blog for a few days. A smorgasbord.

Leave a comment